Pre-Order A Murderous Malady – A Florence Nightingale Mystery, Book 2

It’s exciting to announce the pre-order page at Amazon is live for the second book in the Florence Nightingale Mystery series, A Murderous Malady. Click the button to pre-order your book.

What You Can Anticipate in A Murderous Malady

For fans of Charles Todd and Deanna Raybourn comes Christine Trent’s second Florence Nightingale mystery.

[…]

Being a Florence Nightingale Living History Interpreter

Some of you have visited me during my various appearances as Florence Nightingale at bookstores and conferences, and I am very grateful for your attendance. I have been asked about my research for this role, and I’m happy to share it first with my newsletter readers.

I decided early on to have authentic attire for […]

Finding Florence on Vacation

 

I know you’re a reader and that often means you’re reading anywhere, whenever your time permits. (I do this, too.) I want to see where you take Florence Nightingale on vacation over the coming months. So, I’m asking a small favor: share your photos with me.

Show me where you can be found […]

Podcast Episode 14: Prison Hulks

Imagine the most pestilent, disease-ridden, rat-infested prison in 19th century Great Britain.  Now drop those conditions into a harbor and you have a prison hulk.  Only used for about a century, these floating dens of misery were responsible for countless prisoner deaths.

Podcast Episode 13: The Crystal Palace Exhibition

Opened on May 1, 1851, by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert, the Great Exhibition was the first of the World’s Fair exhibitions of culture and industry. Albert, the Prince Consort, was a major force behind the exhibition, which contained some 100,000 objects, by nearly 14,000 contributors. Britain occupied half the display space inside with […]

Behind the Scenes at The Queen is Not Amused

Many of my readers have asked about my brother, who co-hosts my podcast, The Queen is Not Amused. So that you can get to know more about him and how we work together, I’ve asked him to write a blog post to answer the many questions you’ve had about the behind-the-scenes activities on the podcast. […]

Podcast Episode 12: The Crimean War

The causes of the Crimean War (1853-1856) were complicated, as they usually are.  During the years leading up to the war, France, Russia and Britain were all competing for influence in the Middle East, particularly with Turkey.  In addition, Russia was angry with Turkey over the maltreatment of Orthodox Christians in the Ottoman Empire. […]

NO CURE FOR THE DEAD is Available For Pre-order

I wanted to send you a special note to let you know that NO CURE FOR THE DEAD, the first of the new Florence Nightingale Mysteries, is now available for pre-order on Amazon!

This is my tenth book, and will be my first hardback release. It is currently available in hardback and e-book, but stay […]

Podcast Episode 11: Sidney & Elizabeth Herbert

In the 1850’s Sidney & Elizabeth Herbert were the political power couple of their time.  Sidney was the Secretary of War during the Crimean War, and Elizabeth was his ardent supporter.  Together, they brought forward a young nurse named Florence Nightingale to rescue the Crimean debacle, and the course of nursing was changed forever. […]

Podcast Episode 10: The Exeter Theatre Royal Fire

 

Perhaps the most disastrous theatre fire in Britain’s history occurred in 1887 when Exeter’s Theatre Royal—built to replace another theatre that had burned down just two years earlier—burnt down during an evening performance.  Around 200 people were killed and about 100 children were orphaned. Many of the victims were from the city’s poorer […]