Giving Thanks to My Readers

WINNERS ANNOUNCED:

Lisa M. of Hampden, MA JudyAnn L. of Mansfield, MO LuAnn S. of Orion, MI

Warm congratulations to each for winning an eBook copy of A Grave Celebration, undertaker Violet Harper’s suspenseful adventure at the Suez Canal’s grand opening ceremonies. I hope you enjoy it!

Happy Christmas, everyone! May your stockings […]

Pre-Order A Murderous Malady – A Florence Nightingale Mystery, Book 2

It’s exciting to announce the pre-order page at Amazon is live for the second book in the Florence Nightingale Mystery series, A Murderous Malady. Click the button to pre-order your book.

What You Can Anticipate in A Murderous Malady

For fans of Charles Todd and Deanna Raybourn comes Christine Trent’s second Florence Nightingale mystery.

[…]

Florence Nightingale Book Cover Reveal

I am so excited to share with you the cover for A MURDEROUS MALADY, Book 2 in the Florence Nightingale Mysteries! So excited that I couldn’t wait until the next newsletter to do so! (Psst – if you’re not already on my mailing list, go ahead and subscribe. The newsletter sign up form is in […]

A Deeper Look into Mourning Jewelry

I talk about mourning hair art extensively in A Virtuous Death. I can’t imagine the patience and skill required to do this sort of work. I can barely stay focused to do a little scrapbooking here and there!

The History Behind Mourning Jewelry

Family members have been wearing various forms of mourning jewelry for hundreds […]

Finding Florence on Vacation

 

I know you’re a reader and that often means you’re reading anywhere, whenever your time permits. (I do this, too.) I want to see where you take Florence Nightingale on vacation over the coming months. So, I’m asking a small favor: share your photos with me.

Show me where you can be found […]

Violet Harper: Lady of Ashes Doll & Undertaking Bag

In 2013, doll collector Lynn Buonviri created a doll based on the cover of The Queen’s Dollmaker of main character, Claudette Laurent. Read the blog post describing this doll here. At a July 2014 book signing at Fenwick Street Used Books & Music, located in Leonardtown, Maryland, Lynn surprised me by sharing the Claudette Laurent […]

Inspired by a Book: Readers Share Their Handicrafts

When an author sits down to begin writing a novel it’s hoped the reader will enjoy the tale being spun plus find it a satisfying read, perhaps even find inspiration from one of the characters portrayed. It’s a happy surprise (for any author) to learn a reader has been prompted to ignite their own creativity […]

NO CURE FOR THE DEAD is Available For Pre-order

I wanted to send you a special note to let you know that NO CURE FOR THE DEAD, the first of the new Florence Nightingale Mysteries, is now available for pre-order on Amazon!

This is my tenth book, and will be my first hardback release. It is currently available in hardback and e-book, but stay […]

From Keyboard to Editor

In a previous blog post, I discussed how I come up with book ideas and form them into a coherent plot. Once the writing of a book is done, I am still some distance from getting it turned in to my publisher.

As with book plotting, I work with a small group, which I call […]

Take Violet on Vacation

I know you’re a reader and that often means you’re reading anywhere, whenever your time permits. (I do this, too.) I want to see where you take Violet Harper on vacation over the coming months. So, I’m asking a teeny favor, share your photos with me.

Show me where you can be found reading […]