Getting Back to Writing and…Preparing for a Kitchen Remodel

As you know, the death of my sister-in-law, Lori, hit me very hard. I feel as though I am emerging from a very dark period where there was always daytime but never sunlight.

As part of my re-emergence into the real world, I am working on two very different—but creative—things.

First, I have picked up […]

New Book Cover Reveal – The Deadly Hours

I am delighted to share with you the cover for my next novel, THE DEADLY HOURS, releasing September 1, 2020.

This book is a favorite project of mine. It is my first collaborative effort with other authors and I would happily work with any or all of them again. Susanna Kearsley writes some of […]

Who’s Ready for the Downton Abbey Movie?

Am I the only one beside herself over the release of this movie on September 20th? Here’s my preparation checklist that you might find handy:

 Re-watch the sixth season of Downton Abbey to re-familiarize yourself.  Check into fan events going on across the country.  Buy theater tickets online (don’t want to get to the […]

My Favorite Animated Movies

I don’t know about you, but for me, summer is a time of movies…and usually the animated kind. I have a dear friend with whom I have a very special pact: when animated movies come out, we go together to see them because our husbands aren’t particularly interested in them.

I confess I’ve developed some […]

My Favorite Vacation Spots

Now that we are headlong into the steamy days of summer (at least, here in Maryland it’s pretty hot and humid; I hope it’s breezier where you are!), it got me to thinking about summer vacations. I imagine we all have our favorite places to go to get away from it all, don’t we? Where […]

Crabs, Clams, and Oysters, Oh My!

I’ve mentioned before that I am currently working on a book that is totally different from my Florence Nightingale and Lady of Ashes series. It is what I would term “Women’s Fiction,” and takes place in my home state of Maryland, a state really rich in history, water activities, and seafood cuisine.

I decided I […]

Violet Harper’s Newest Short Story

I am pleased to announce that I have another short story being published, this time as part of Malice Domestic’s annual anthology. This year’s volume is entitled “Mystery Most Edible,” and features food-themed stories. Violet is on another adventure in “Mrs. Beeton’s Sausage Stuffing.” Violet Harper fans know exactly what she thinks of the revered […]

Christine’s Craft Room

I really love writing. Seriously. So much so that it almost feels a hobby because it doesn’t feel like work (shh, don’t tell my agent I said that!). I know how blessed I am to feel that way because so many people are in careers or situations they don’t enjoy.

Contemplating that got me to […]

Giving Thanks to My Readers

WINNERS ANNOUNCED:

Lisa M. of Hampden, MA JudyAnn L. of Mansfield, MO LuAnn S. of Orion, MI

Warm congratulations to each for winning an eBook copy of A Grave Celebration, undertaker Violet Harper’s suspenseful adventure at the Suez Canal’s grand opening ceremonies. I hope you enjoy it!

Happy Christmas, everyone! May your stockings […]

Pre-Order A Murderous Malady – A Florence Nightingale Mystery, Book 2

It’s exciting to announce the pre-order page at Amazon is live for the second book in the Florence Nightingale Mystery series, A Murderous Malady. Click the button to pre-order your book.

What You Can Anticipate in A Murderous Malady

For fans of Charles Todd and Deanna Raybourn comes Christine Trent’s second Florence Nightingale mystery.

[…]