My Favorite Animated Movies

I don’t know about you, but for me, summer is a time of movies…and usually the animated kind. I have a dear friend with whom I have a very special pact: when animated movies come out, we go together to see them because our husbands aren’t particularly interested in them.

I confess I’ve developed some […]

My Favorite Vacation Spots

Now that we are headlong into the steamy days of summer (at least, here in Maryland it’s pretty hot and humid; I hope it’s breezier where you are!), it got me to thinking about summer vacations. I imagine we all have our favorite places to go to get away from it all, don’t we? Where […]

Crabs, Clams, and Oysters, Oh My!

I’ve mentioned before that I am currently working on a book that is totally different from my Florence Nightingale and Lady of Ashes series. It is what I would term “Women’s Fiction,” and takes place in my home state of Maryland, a state really rich in history, water activities, and seafood cuisine.

I decided I […]

Violet Harper’s Newest Short Story

I am pleased to announce that I have another short story being published, this time as part of Malice Domestic’s annual anthology. This year’s volume is entitled “Mystery Most Edible,” and features food-themed stories. Violet is on another adventure in “Mrs. Beeton’s Sausage Stuffing.” Violet Harper fans know exactly what she thinks of the revered […]

Christine’s Craft Room

I really love writing. Seriously. So much so that it almost feels a hobby because it doesn’t feel like work (shh, don’t tell my agent I said that!). I know how blessed I am to feel that way because so many people are in careers or situations they don’t enjoy.

Contemplating that got me to […]

Giving Thanks to My Readers

WINNERS ANNOUNCED:

Lisa M. of Hampden, MA JudyAnn L. of Mansfield, MO LuAnn S. of Orion, MI

Warm congratulations to each for winning an eBook copy of A Grave Celebration, undertaker Violet Harper’s suspenseful adventure at the Suez Canal’s grand opening ceremonies. I hope you enjoy it!

Happy Christmas, everyone! May your stockings […]

Pre-Order A Murderous Malady – A Florence Nightingale Mystery, Book 2

It’s exciting to announce the pre-order page at Amazon is live for the second book in the Florence Nightingale Mystery series, A Murderous Malady. Click the button to pre-order your book.

What You Can Anticipate in A Murderous Malady

For fans of Charles Todd and Deanna Raybourn comes Christine Trent’s second Florence Nightingale mystery.

[…]

Florence Nightingale Book Cover Reveal

I am so excited to share with you the cover for A MURDEROUS MALADY, Book 2 in the Florence Nightingale Mysteries! So excited that I couldn’t wait until the next newsletter to do so! (Psst – if you’re not already on my mailing list, go ahead and subscribe. The newsletter sign up form is in […]

A Deeper Look into Mourning Jewelry

I talk about mourning hair art extensively in A Virtuous Death. I can’t imagine the patience and skill required to do this sort of work. I can barely stay focused to do a little scrapbooking here and there!

The History Behind Mourning Jewelry

Family members have been wearing various forms of mourning jewelry for hundreds […]

Finding Florence on Vacation

 

I know you’re a reader and that often means you’re reading anywhere, whenever your time permits. (I do this, too.) I want to see where you take Florence Nightingale on vacation over the coming months. So, I’m asking a small favor: share your photos with me.

Show me where you can be found […]