Giving Thanks to My Readers

Enter for a Chance to Win an eBook of A Grave Celebration

It’s November. Time for beautiful fall foliage, those first cups of hot chocolate or pumpkin spice latte, and turning attention to how we will spend Thanksgiving with our loved ones.

As for me, I will confess that I skip the pumpkin spice lattes […]

Pre-Order A Murderous Malady – A Florence Nightingale Mystery, Book 2

It’s exciting to announce the pre-order page at Amazon is live for the second book in the Florence Nightingale Mystery series, A Murderous Malady. Click the button to pre-order your book.

What You Can Anticipate in A Murderous Malady

For fans of Charles Todd and Deanna Raybourn comes Christine Trent’s second Florence Nightingale mystery.

[…]

Florence Nightingale Book Cover Reveal

I am so excited to share with you the cover for A MURDEROUS MALADY, Book 2 in the Florence Nightingale Mysteries! So excited that I couldn’t wait until the next newsletter to do so! (Psst – if you’re not already on my mailing list, go ahead and subscribe. The newsletter sign up form is in […]

A Deeper Look into Mourning Jewelry

I talk about mourning hair art extensively in A Virtuous Death. I can’t imagine the patience and skill required to do this sort of work. I can barely stay focused to do a little scrapbooking here and there!

The History Behind Mourning Jewelry

Family members have been wearing various forms of mourning jewelry for hundreds […]

Finding Florence on Vacation

 

I know you’re a reader and that often means you’re reading anywhere, whenever your time permits. (I do this, too.) I want to see where you take Florence Nightingale on vacation over the coming months. So, I’m asking a small favor: share your photos with me.

Show me where you can be found […]

Violet Harper: Lady of Ashes Doll & Undertaking Bag

In 2013, doll collector Lynn Buonviri created a doll based on the cover of The Queen’s Dollmaker of main character, Claudette Laurent. Read the blog post describing this doll here. At a July 2014 book signing at Fenwick Street Used Books & Music, located in Leonardtown, Maryland, Lynn surprised me by sharing the Claudette Laurent […]

Inspired by a Book: Readers Share Their Handicrafts

When an author sits down to begin writing a novel it’s hoped the reader will enjoy the tale being spun plus find it a satisfying read, perhaps even find inspiration from one of the characters portrayed. It’s a happy surprise (for any author) to learn a reader has been prompted to ignite their own creativity […]

NO CURE FOR THE DEAD is Available For Pre-order

I wanted to send you a special note to let you know that NO CURE FOR THE DEAD, the first of the new Florence Nightingale Mysteries, is now available for pre-order on Amazon!

This is my tenth book, and will be my first hardback release. It is currently available in hardback and e-book, but stay […]

From Keyboard to Editor

In a previous blog post, I discussed how I come up with book ideas and form them into a coherent plot. Once the writing of a book is done, I am still some distance from getting it turned in to my publisher.

As with book plotting, I work with a small group, which I call […]

Take Violet on Vacation

I know you’re a reader and that often means you’re reading anywhere, whenever your time permits. (I do this, too.) I want to see where you take Violet Harper on vacation over the coming months. So, I’m asking a teeny favor, share your photos with me.

Show me where you can be found reading […]